Website Designers in Wexford, Ireland – Cada Media Ltd

Online Marketing Wexford, Search Engine Optimisation Wexford , Web Development Wexford – 053-9430748

World Business Register Scam

May 25th, 2009 by admin

World Business Register Emails

world-business-registerwell, its that time of the year again when people with current domains get targetted by misleading companies who give the impression that your already listed with them by using words like “time to renew” etc… and often these companies say its free to join or whatever but then get you on the small print for 900 quid!
last year we had clients of ours come in to us with their chequebook ready to pay these guys!! Naturallywe put a stop to that! So this time here is the email that is going around -

world-business-register-sca

See the text pasted below: why would they not know your companies name? why ladies and gentlemen? why would you be in a dutch directory!! and also they say updating is free- you can be sure in a few weeks a similar one will come round to renew and you will be caught out having  ‘updated’  – thus registered with them!!

We recommend you simply DELETE it from your inbox! and think about it no more…

This one has conditions that if you sign it you agree to pay 995 euro for a year and it will auto renew every year! DO NOT SIGN THIS!!!

Ladies and Gentlemen.

In order to have your company inserted in the registry of World Businesses
for 2009/2010 edition, please print, complete and submit the enclosed
form (PDF file) to the following address:

WORLD BUSINESS GUIDE
P.O. Box 2021
3500 GA Utrecht
The Netherlands

email: register@wbgtoday.com
FAX: +31 20 524 8107

IGNORE THIS EMAIL!!

This entry was posted on Monday, May 25th, 2009 at 3:03 pm , has had 424 views and is filed under Scam, blog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

15 responses about “World Business Register Scam”

  1. Holly said:

    Thank-you so much for posting this. There it was in the small print on the bottom, 995 euros! You saved me heartache that I did not need.

  2. Stan said:

    Thanks a lot! Just got this scam email and decided to look up this service in the internet. Fortunately, found information on your site.

    Thanks again,
    Stan

  3. Jeff said:

    I am very happy that there are sites like this that pop up on Google before others. It is nice to see people going out of their way to protect others.
    Thank you.

  4. Pep said:

    I already sign and stamped, today I am in trouble – I received the invoice. Should I pay?

  5. Jupiter said:

    Hi Pep,

    We have been receiving invoices from these guys. See this site for advice:

    http://stopecg.org/world_business_directory.htm

  6. William said:

    They got us too, the scoundrils!

    We have recieved several threatening letters demanding payment, which we have not paid and will not pay.
    Others be warned

  7. Andrash said:

    Thank You for this article. I received this scam, too. I Googled it and Your site was the first that was listed. It helped me very much.

    Thank You again and keep up the good work!

  8. Brendan said:

    Thank you bla bla bla whatever…

    You would need to be a complete RETARD to sign a mail like that!! Jesus! COme on people! It’s not like it spam scams were invented yesterday!!

  9. Neil said:

    Thanks for the article. Had received the email also and was considering responding to it, but googled and found your site.

    Thanks again saved me some heartache.

  10. michael fantacci said:

    I got today the WBR scam letter. Years ago, the same thing was the European City Guide, I had unfortunately sent back the signed copy, was billed an absurd amount, went to my lawyer, he said pay up. I got on the interenet and found out the scam had appeared before the italian fair trade commission where it was declared fradulent and misleading advertising, so I never paid a cent thought got letters from credit companies in switzerland for years that I simply threw away till they stopped. Isn’t time the EEC get on the ball and stop this nonsense with various clones? Before this there was the Word Business Guide…

  11. Buyer Beware on RTE | Website Designers in Wexford, Ireland - Cada Media Ltd said:

    [...] No matter what industry you are in you have to be aware that there are companies out there who will rip you off when it comes to advertising or even getting listed on a web directory for example. Our area of expertise is the Internet. We get many calls all the time from concerned companies who have received an invoice for getting listed in the world web directory or World business Register [...]

  12. Sam Deeks said:

    Hi all, well done for highlighting this (and Jules Woodell’s excellent site). I’ve blogged quite a bit about World Business Directory and Expo Guide too. If you’re worried, take a look at all the comments on the following two posts:

    http://www.mukaumedia.co.uk/expoguide-scam-decide-yawn/
    http://www.mukaumedia.co.uk/world-business-directory-scam-decide/

    They should reassure you quite a bit

  13. Chris Kettle said:

    We too have been harrasses by these dirty little scammers. We have not paid anything other than the postage to spain. :-(
    We are being threatened for 4000 EUROs.
    They are making a lot of money from decent hardworking business men.

    Why can they not be stopped… We need to group together. We run a cheap international calls service, and need our phone lines free for customer support not for scam lines!

  14. Ivan Trgovcevic said:

    I’ve just recieved this e-mail, fortunately Google and your post confirmed my doubts…
    Thanks

  15. Dave Jones said:

    I am a sole trader so they have probably got my email off a legit directory on the net. Always suspecious of any email without my name on the top. Not even gonna “unsubscribe” as this will just confirm my email address.

    Dodgy dodgy scammers – can’t stand them!

Leave a Reply